22
Feb
11

ALAS POOR FREEDOM… WE KNEW YE WELL…

Say hello to Oregon Congressman Greg Walden… while you can. If he has his way (along with the rest of the Republican Party) the internet will become such a censored arena that you’ll likely never know what your government is really up to again. But, you’ll be able to read plenty of Fox Sports and shop on Walmart’s website! Hooray!

“With a 244-181 vote on Thursday, Republican leaders succeeded in attaching an amendment to a sweeping spending bill that would bar the FCC from using government money to implement its new “network neutrality” regulations. The rules prohibit phone and cable companies from favoring or discriminating against Internet content and services, including online calling services like Skype and Web video services like Netflix that could compete with their core operations.

Republican Rep. Greg Walden, the sponsor of the spending bill amendment and chairman of the House Commerce Subcommittee on Communications and Technology, said his measure is “about keeping the government out of the business of running the Internet.” The new FCC rules require broadband providers to let subscribers access all legal online content, applications and services over their wired networks.” – MSNBC

Just as an aside, I have always found it outrageous that people in congress can just attach totally unrelated items to other bills. I mean, how about if the next time I file my taxes I attach a bill to the government for the damage to my car from all the potholes on the interstate they should have fixed? Or when I pay my phone bill I attach a binding contract that says by cashing my check the phone company agrees to send me blow and hookers every month?

None of this would work, of course. In conservative-land workers and consumers are mere sheeple. Chattle. Breathing, sweating and spending piles of organs lashed up to a giant machine like Keanu Reeves in THE MATRIX. We don’t have those kinds of rights.

Did I say “rights”? HA HA HA HA HA HA!!! I’m sorry. My, I am getting silly today, aren’t I? Verizon has rights. So does Bank of America. And I’m pretty sure the first time Greg Walden gets fucked over by his credit card company or his mortgage lender, he’ll have rights too.

If you ask me (and I’m assuming you did because otherwise why are you reading my website?) we are seeing the soul of the modern Republican Party on display these days. Be it attempts to turn the internet into a vast commercial wasteland or Governor Mubarak’s efforts to turn Wisconsin into China, I’m left more baffled now than I ever was as to why people put these clowns into office.

Hey, there’s a sale at Penney’s!

0 Responses to “ALAS POOR FREEDOM… WE KNEW YE WELL…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

