15
Jul
11

YES, I’M STILL HERE…

I’ve been gone the last two days. I could offer the usual excuses. Like how balancing work, parenting, a marriage and this website is slowly draining me of my very will to live. But, I won’t do that. If it’s all the same to you I’m going to say that I was kidnapped by a crack team of female Russian agents. They were going to kill me but my charming personality and crooked smile thawed their icy hearts, making them disobey their orders and go AWOL with me. Yeah. I’m definitely going with that one.

I have been keeping an eye on the news, though. Here’s a few of the things I’ve been watching over the last few days.

Having spent about eleven years in Los Angeles I am all too familiar with its infamous traffic. In fact, there are still some nights when the freeways come back to haunt me in my sleep like a hazy Vietnam flashback. But, this weekend the LA freeway system is going to experience its very own Tet Offensive.

“Construction on the 5 Freeway through Burbank will halt over the weekend to ease stress as motorists seek to get around the 405 closure, transportation officials told the Glendale News-Press.

The work stoppage is expected to affect all freeways in L.A. County during the so-called Carmageddon closure, although crews might still work on a few projects that would not impede traffic, said Patrick Chandler, spokesman for the California Department of Transportation.

The 405 will be closed for 53 hours from Friday night to Monday morning to demolish the south side of the Mulholland Drive Bridge.” – LOS ANGELES TIMES

Taking away the freeways in LA is like taking away all the air or water. It’s going to be complete chaos. If satellite navigation fails it’s possible that the death toll could be in the millions. And that’s just from people starving to death in their cars once they get lost.

Because someone decided, I guess, that life wasn’t already nasty, brutish and short enough. They have to go and do stuff like this.

“Most executive recruiters won’t look at a candidate unless they have a job, even if they don’t like to admit to it,” said Lisa Chenofsky Singer, a human resources consultant from Millburn, NJ, specializing in media and publishing jobs.

She said when she proposes candidates for openings, the first question she is often asked by a recruiter is if they currently have a job. If the answer is no, she’s typically told the unemployed candidate won’t be interviewed.

“They think you must have been laid off for performance issues,” she said, adding that this is a “myth” in a time of high unemployment.

It is not against the law for companies to exclude the unemployed when trying to fill positions, but Judy Conti, a lobbyist for the National Employment Law Project, said the practice is a bad one. – CNN MONEY

A bad practice is sneaking into your neighbor’s apartment at night to smell her panties. Not giving someone a job because they don’t already have one is the first sign that life really is but a dream and the dreamer has a brain tumor.

Finally, this site is going to be a year old next month. I’m not sure what I’m going to do to celebrate it. If anyone has any suggestions they can email me. And if you have any nude photos you should probably send me those too. I’ll make you a star!

 

 

0 Responses to “YES, I’M STILL HERE…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

