01
Sep
11

WE’RE ALMOST RID OF THIS GUY…

Even though I thought we would have killed Libyan strongman Mumar Ghaddafi by now I knew it was only a matter of time before he was forced to stop fighting. Of course I also thought that by now I would be an astronaut and that oral sex would be an acceptable way to greet people in public. But, no.

After months of allied bombing and civil war in Libya, Quadhaffi and his supporters have been forced to a few small pockets of resistance.

“Libya’s fugitive ex-leader Col Muammar Gaddafi says he will continue to fight his enemies, in an audio message carried by a loyalist TV channel.

“The Libyan people cannot kneel, cannot surrender, we are not women,” he said in the message on the al-Rai channel.

Anti-Gaddafi forces encircling the city of Sirte have given loyalists an extra week to negotiate their surrender.” – BBC NEWS

I wasn’t aware that women kneel and surrender in Libya. If that’s the case then I think I’m probably going to leave my wife and go there. Also, roughly half of the Libyan populace is female. Which would in fact make them women. Unless the ultimate goal there is some kind sausage utopia where only dudes hang out.

Dictators are just as flawed and diverse as the rest of us. Some are geniuses. Some are hopeless idiots. Some are notorious womanizers. Some are perverts and psychopaths. Khaddaphi falls into the middle of all of these. And like most dictators he has now found himself incurring the wrath of every terrible thing he’s had to do to seize and maintain power for the last 40 years.

I can just see the ghost of Saddam or Arafat visiting Ghadhaffi in the night bound with the many shackles and chains they earned in life. I don’t know what they would tell him. He’s pretty much fucked. But it’s a cool visual nonetheless.

WordPress makes you sign up for a different service of some kind to put polls up so I have a Facebook poll going instead. The question is simple: will Ghaddaffi be taken alive? Will he die fighting? Or, will he die by his own hand? My own vote went for suicide because I don’t think NATO is going to give him the chance to die looking like a hero. And I don’t think he’s going to be taken alive. He is incredibly vain and I think he cares mostly about his legacy at this point. His only other real alternative is to be taken alive, tried and convicted (seriously, you should see the shit he’s done) and either be executed or do life in jail. Either way, I think he wants to go out on his own terms.

But hey, what do I know? I thought my eighth grade English teacher wanted to keep our relationship secret and casual. Next thing I know she’s talking about kids and moving in together. In the end I had to break her heart. She retaliated by claiming that I couldn’t “read” and holding me back a year. Then, a few years later, she had a miscarriage and committed suicide. So, I win.

0 Responses to “WE’RE ALMOST RID OF THIS GUY…”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

