23
Aug
12

MAGNUS GREEL MOST HATED #8: PAKISTAN

Ha. Surprised you, didn’t I? You thought this was going to be a list of ten people, right? Well, there are people in Pakistan. And while I’m never comfortable just outright hating an entire nation of people I’m coming to the conclusion that this is a pretty safe exception to make. What’s that? Why not Iran or North Korea? Eh. Those countries are nuisances at best. They are like hemorrhoids or warts that flare up from time to time and make shitting or walking difficult but not impossible.

The relevancy of this subject became very clear to me this morning when, as I sat down to write this post, I was surprised to see two stories about Pakistan that fit perfectly into my narrative. First and foremost I was surprised to see a former Pakistani diplomat to the US say what I said just a little over a year ago:

“The United States and Pakistan should stop pretending they are allies and amicably “divorce,” Pakistan’s former ambassador to Washington said on Wednesday, citing unrealistic expectations in both countries that include U.S. hopes Islamabad will sever its links to extremists.

“If in 65 years, you haven’t been able to find sufficient common ground to live together, and you had three separations and four reaffirmations of marriage, then maybe the better way is to find friendship outside of the marital bond,” Husain Haqqani said, addressing the Center for the National Interest, a Washington think tank.

Haqqani’s recommendation that the United States and Pakistan essentially downgrade their status was based on the premise that it may be the only way to break from what has been a dysfunctional relationship…

…Haqqani, who served as an adviser to four Pakistani prime ministers, identified himself among a small minority who support good relations with the United States but “who do not have the ability to influence the course of policy at home.” – MSNBC

Pakistan has no business whatsoever being a nuclear power. They’re broke. That’s like your unemployed neighbor who is on welfare (and has far too many kids) having a brand new Escalade in the driveway. But, you know, they just had to have their flashy toys. At the expense, I might add, of educating their populace. Or feeding them. Or keeping terrorists and jihadists out of their borders. In actuality, though, America has paid for it. Seriously. We’re just silly that way. Meanwhile my wife and I are struggling to pay off our college loans. Just saying.

But, you know what? Nukes and terrorists aside I think sometimes you need only look at every day events in Pakistan to really get a feel for why we shouldn’t be giving them anything. I decided to look for a story which would give a more personal edge to this piece. Something that would help the average person see how there really is nothing we can do to help this country. Then I saw this chestnut:

“Pakistani police have arrested a mentally disabled 11-year-old girl after a mob accused her of desecrating pages of the Koran. The mob demanded the Christian girl’s arrest and threatened to burn down Christian homes outside the capital Islamabad, local media say.

Officials said the girl could not properly answer police questions. Her parents have been taken into protective custody following threats and other Christian families have fled.

It is thought that the girl has Down’s syndrome…

…Rights activists have urged Pakistan to reform its controversial blasphemy laws, under which a person can be jailed for life for desecrating the Koran. Many of those accused of blasphemy have been killed by violent mobs, while politicians who advocate a change in legislation have also been targeted.” – BBC NEWS

Yeah. I don’t know about you but when I see people trying to lynch a girl with DS because she, uh, mentioned the Koran or something my first instinct is not to write them a check for 7 billion dollars. And it goes without saying that all that economic and military aid is being wasted. As you can see from the picture they can’t even execute someone properly (seriously, dude, a pistol would have sufficed from that range).

Sure, I’m mad that they were harboring Bin Laden. I’m mad that they’re arming and training fanatics (with the very weapons we’ve given them) to send over the border into Afghanistan and kill Americans. I’m mad that they still execute women for learning to read. I’m mad that every time I see a story about Pakistan they’re always burning our flag for some reason. I’m mad that we keep giving them billions and billions of dollars. But…

Shit. I just made my own point. Way to go, me!

3 Responses to “MAGNUS GREEL MOST HATED #8: PAKISTAN”


  1. 1 ceser is awesome
    September 14, 2013 at 12:40 PM

    YOU 2 ARE SO STUPID I AM FROM PAKISTAN AND I DON’T MURDER PPL YOU DON’T KNOW ANYTHING ABOUT PAKISTAN WHEN YOU FIND SOME REAL PROF THEN WE WILL TALK TILL THEN SHUT YOU BIG FAT MOUTH YOU FAT ASS FUCKTARD ASSHOLE FUCKHEAD FUCK YOU ASSHOLE SO FUCK OFF I HOPE SOMEONE BLOWS YOUR BRAINS OUT FUCK HEAD YOU FUCKTARD.

  2. August 23, 2012 at 2:41 PM

    Love it! Outstanding! Or maybe I’m just unaccustomed to reading anything that makes perfect sense anymore. I wish I’d written it 🙂


Leave a Reply

