05
Sep
12

MAGNUS GREEL MOST HATED #4: CANDY LIGHTNER

I got a DUI about a year ago. And while it’s not something I’m proud of, it’s not something I feel the least bit guilty about. In fact, I’m actually kind of pissed off about it. Here’s why.

I took the wheel so that someone who was actually drunk wouldn’t drive. I was not pulled over for any particular reason. The police were systematically stopping people as they left the parking lot of this particular establishment (which itself is debatably illegal). Despite passing the roadside sobriety test and having three inconclusive results on the breathalyzer, the police arrested me anyway. It was only at the station that I somehow, magically, got a result that was just enough over the legal limit for them to charge me. It was an odd situation because both the cop and I knew I had done nothing wrong. Yet, there I was. And the officer could not even look me in the eyes.

It was bullshit. My driving record was spotless. Driving drunk is something I have never done. And yet, now, I have a DUI on my record and I’m in the hole financially for it. And that brings me to number four on my list: Candace “Candy” Lightner.

Lightner founded Mothers Against Drunk Driving in 1980, apparently under the impression that only women with children are opposed to people driving drunk. This happened after her teenage daughter was killed by a repeat offender in a drunk driving hit and run incident.

As someone who has lost a child himself (albeit under different circumstances) I can only say that there is no mystery in how she felt. I know that agony only too well. And even now I still keep a slice of my feelings for her reserved for genuine sympathy and compassion.

But the difference between Lightner and me is very stark and very clear: I mourned the loss of my child. Lightner used the death of hers to become famous. And in her crusade for fame she and her followers have spent three decades outright assaulting the legislative process and retarding the role of law enforcement to a point where they aren’t really upholding the law or protecting the public. They’re out to make money.

Because of Lightner, local and state governments are now hopelessly addicted to the revenue stream that the easily bendable DUI laws bring them. When I asked my own arresting officer how he felt about busting people who had probably done nothing wrong his candor was shocking.

“We have to keep our jobs somehow.”

You hear that sound? That’s the sound of a meth dealer or child molester not being arrested. Thanks Candy.

The unpleasant truth about this situation became even clearer when my lawyer broke it down for me. Even getting a lawyer, he told me, meant I would be facing a somewhat harsher sentence. “When you get a lawyer they come down harder on you. They don’t like it when they have to actually make their case. They really hate it when people know their rights.”

I was going to be punished for doing nothing wrong, and charged thousands of dollars for knowing it. Thanks Candy.

Most people busted for DUI can’t afford a lawyer. They turn to the Public Defender’s Office (also known as the Tits on a Bull Department). But even someone who blows a 0.00 on their breathalyzer test will still end up being convicted of something. Why? Because judges and prosecutors get fat monetary and career bonuses for the number of DUI convictions there are. Likewise, legislators at all levels get sweet kickbacks from MADD itself for operating this way. So they don’t give a shit if you’ve done anything wrong or not. Thanks Candy.

But, I guess the thing that really makes me hate her is how transparently greedy and self-obsessed she is. What is she doing nowadays? Well, in 1994, she decided to stop being an activist and become a whore.

“”MADD Founder Switches Sides” was a typical headline, and “lobbyist for the liquor industry” the typical job description when the media discovered Lightner’s new position.

Lightner, who founded MADD in Fair Oaks, Calif., in 1980 when her 13-year-old daughter Cari was killed by a drunk driver, says she has not changed sides.

“I am a government relations consultant on public policy issues, and it’s something I have wanted to do for a long time,” she says.

Lightner accepted the job in November with Rick Berman, whose Washington, D.C.-based Berman and Co.’s clients include the American Beverage Institute, a 4,000-member trade organization representing restaurants and other establishments that serve alcohol.

She will lobby state legislatures to reject laws that lower the legal standard for driving under the influence to .08% blood-alcohol level because she agrees with the restaurant industry’s position that these are not the dangerous drivers and it is counterproductive to waste law enforcement resources on them. Only a few states, including California, have .08% laws. Most use .10%.” – The Los Angeles Times

Yeah. You read that right. The founder of MADD went on to lobby on behalf of the alcoholic beverage industry to keep states from lowering the legal limit to drive. And I’m sure she’s also been bumped into a much higher income bracket. After all, whores do what they do for the money.

Thanks Candy. And I’m aware that the picture up there is from a long, long time ago. I figured it would be appropriate to use because that’s when your fifteen minutes were up.

8 Responses to “MAGNUS GREEL MOST HATED #4: CANDY LIGHTNER”


  1. September 21, 2015 at 2:03 PM

    One who posts information should research it thoroughly prior to writing. Failure to do so is like firing a gun in the dark. There many aspects about MADD I totally disagree with and when I first saw Lightner on a talk show her statements indicated it was the court system she was targeting. Serious offenders such as the man who killed her daughter were being routinely booked and released. It was the judges she said that she wanted held accountable. That has devolved into a nation under siege for the actions of a few. The courts target us and it has nothing to do with “Public Safety” and everything to do with police grabbing as much as they can. The courts are the kingpins in this money making enterprise. It also is another assault on and diminishing of our Bill of Rights. MADD is run now by men, executive types who know where money is to be made. MADD takes in around $60 million tax free dollars while spending little of it on the cause and a lot on salaries. Did Lightner envision this? Doubtful. The War on Drugs is the same, the propaganda machine runs full speed and the public keeps supporting the misdeeds of law believing the crimes of citizens are outrageous. I did not see the streets littered with bodies from DUI drivers nor do I see the havoc supposedly created by drug use. You even mention “meth” which is the latest bogeyman in the propaganda machine and you have bought into it hook line and sinker. Drug laws have existed for a mere 100 years. What was the problem back then? Negroes, Mexicans and Chnese in America! Drug crime in the US is centered around the black portions of large cities. This crime is the result of racism not evil or firearms or drug use. Black youth are victims of white society. They have little opportunity to rise above the poverty they grew up in and drug dealing is one of the few things they can do for money. They will pack weapons simply because their business is not protected by police. So the result we hear: violent black drug dealers destroying neighborhoods. The impression we are fed and then we believe. The neighborhoods were destroyed by government the day the first “projects” were built. They resemble prisons. There is more cash to be made off white drunk drivers and the courts know it. The courts are corrupt and nobody knows or exercises their Rights so the powers that be will continue to steamroll over us. Candy Lightner is not who you should hate but the courts are. Write about that but first read about how many go to prison for exercising the Right of free speech by criticizing a judge. I must mention our police/military human Rights violators, the DEA. Armed thugs that only Hitler could be proud of. The DEA has taken all this homegrown insanity world-wide, disrupting and destroying life everywhere to save us from drugs.
    All the laws and destruction that resulted created by the embedded dilettantes of Washington DC cannot be undone or remedied in a thousand lifetimes but will vanish when this democracy devours itself. That will be sooner than later and Lightner did not cause it but the ignorant among us will be to blame and rightly so. Of the People, by the People and for the People. There it is. My most hated? The People. Especially those who cannot or will not think things through then speak out.

    • 2 bob
      December 13, 2015 at 10:02 AM

      I like what you said. However, there was no need to be condescending to the author of the article and imply he’s ignorant. He’s clearly not.

    • 3 Steve
      May 4, 2016 at 3:05 AM

      Wow!. I agree with most of what you say. Except the racism part. You name me one successful, predominantly “black” run country,city,or even neighborhood, governed exclusively by “black” leaders, and you might make a better case. I think a lot of black failure is in the DNA, and cannot be blamed on “whitey” or “racism”.

  2. May 19, 2013 at 3:09 PM

    I always spent my half an hour to read this weblog’s articles all the time along with a mug of coffee.

  3. 5 ken
    November 18, 2012 at 8:17 PM

    I knew Candy before the murder of her child. I know something about her that I almost sold to the Enquirer years ago. The reporter was going to flyout from Florida and buy my story for $15000, but he got sidelined with the O.J.fiasco. When he called me a few weeks later, I changed my mind. I am now having second thoughts.

  4. 6 Anonymous
    September 6, 2012 at 7:32 AM

    Sorry but I don’t buy it. I have worked in the legal system and there is no way a judge would have let this case go forward based on your account. There must be more to your story.

    • September 6, 2012 at 9:00 AM

      I sympathize. And I too have worked in the legal system. But, alas, this is what happened.

      In most states, when you get a DUI, you are actually charged with three separate things. The prosecutor in my case gave me the standard offer to drop the most serious two in exchange for pleading guilty or no contest to the lesser one, paying my $1,900 in fines and going away quietly. My attorney said I could try fighting if I wanted but it would end up costing me four times as much in legal fees. Further, the odds of winning were not in my favor because it basically comes down to my word versus the cop’s.

      And, of course, this is not to mention the nightmare you experience at the DMV which is separate from the courts but just as beholden to MADD and their deep pockets.

      Finally, because of the economic situation in this country, police departments are strapped for cash like everyone else. Most cops, including my arresting officer, have a DUI quota they have to meet each month. Likewise, my prosecutor had a quota of convictions he had to meet. And I’m sure even judges have some kind of quota they need to meet as far as convictions. Plus, most judges have their hands tied because of mandatory sentencing laws which are put in place by cash strapped local and state governments. It’s basically a ponzi scheme that ends up fucking the lowest people on the pyramid: us.

      Yeah, a judge should have thrown this out. But if you actually believe the legal system is about guilt or innocence then you probably also believe in fairies and leprechauns.


Leave a Reply

