01
Feb
13

DON’T WORRY. IT’S FINE.

THE SEVENTH SEAL, Bengt Ekerot, 1957, death

Having spent the last few days either curled up in bed with cold sweats or dealing with school loan lenders, I find that my interest in the subject of tiny parasites has been piqued. Whatever outer space, Neo-Nazi psychopath virus I had rendered me immobile for two entire days. No joke, I had 300 Spartan antibodies fighting to the death at the entrance of my colon.

Anyhow, while researching my condition online (as well as painless methods of suicide) I found myself linked to a BBC NEWS story from earlier this week. And what struck me was not as much the content as it was how buried the story was. It wasn’t even on the front page of their “World” or “Health” sections. You had to stumble across it to even find it.

“The rise in drug resistant infections is comparable to the threat of global warming, according to the chief medical officer for England.

Prof Dame Sally Davies said bacteria were becoming resistant to current drugs and there were few antibiotics to replace them.

She told a committee of MPs that going for a routine operation could become deadly due to the threat of infection.

Experts said it was a global problem and needed much more attention.

Antibiotics have been one of the greatest success stories in medicine. However, bacteria are a rapidly adapting foe which find new ways to evade drugs.” – BBC NEWS

Not to sound cynical but when something is viewed to be a “global problem” and needs “much more attention” it usually means nothing is going to happen. At least not until the dead start walking through the streets devouring every living thing in their path. I’m sure then it’ll be all “Quick! To the laboratory!”

I guess the reason a story like this ends up on the back page, so to speak, is the subject matter. Germs scare the shit out of people. And the thought of suddenly one day not being able to stop them from killing us is one people tend to avoid. And they are trying to kill us. All the time. Everywhere. Like, right now. Did you feel that? That was bacteria trying to kill you.

“The World Health Organization has warned the world is heading for a “post-antibiotic era” unless action is taken.

It paints a future in which “many common infections will no longer have a cure and, once again, kill unabated.”

My first reaction is to call for covering the Earth in bleach or building nanobots armed with guns and flamethrowers. But the fact is we are all covered with bacteria all the time. We need them as much as they threaten us. Like me with Hillary. Still, the idea of a post-antibiotic era scares the hell out of me.

Granted, there was a long pre-antibiotic era and somehow mankind survived. But, it wasn’t the good sort of survival. It was the generally unpleasant QUEST FOR FIRE kind of thing. Definitely a more day-to-day existence. On the other hand Armageddon would probably mean I didn’t have to pay back anymore loans because I’d be dead or out killing to survive. Which sounds kind of cool, actually, when compared to a normal life of working and paying debts. So maybe this isn’t bad news after all.

3 Responses to “DON’T WORRY. IT’S FINE.”


  1. June 11, 2013 at 3:56 AM

    Unquestionably consider that that you said.
    Your favourite justification seemed to be on the web the simplest thing
    to take note of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed even as folks think about
    issues that they just don’t recognize about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as smartly as outlined out the whole thing without having side effect , other people can take a signal. Will probably be again to get more. Thanks

  2. May 26, 2013 at 8:03 AM

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems? A small number of my blog visitors have complained about my site not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  3. May 19, 2013 at 3:48 PM

    Yesterday, while I was at work, my sister stole my iPad and
    tested to see if it can survive a thirty foot
    drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My apple ipad is now broken and
    she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had to share it with someone!


Leave a Reply

