28
Feb
13

GLORIA STEINEM KNOWS WHAT’S BEST FOR YOU

Gloria Steinem

In all probability you have no idea who Gloria Steinem is. Unless, of course, you’re old enough to remember sexism.  At best, you’ve probably heard the name. No, she wasn’t Hitler’s girlfriend or the original Laurie on THE PARTRIDGE FAMILY. She’s actually one of the pioneers of the early feminist movement. Although I’ll bet you didn’t know that she’s also Christian Bale’s stepmother. Which, if you ask me, is the most interesting thing about her. BATMAN is way cooler than the long struggle for gender equality. You know I’m right.

But, hey, apparently being Christian Bale’s stepmother is grounds enough to be invited onto TV talk shows. And you know what? By golly she just knows a thing or two about everything. Including how you and your spouse or partner should handle doing chores around the house. Which she’s probably never done herself seeing as she married a rich guy who then promptly died.

Still, Steinem cruised by to chat with Marlo Thomas recently and, shockingly, offered her opinions on a variety of topics.

“How can you convince your male spouse to pitch in and help with household chores? Feminist activist Gloria Steinem weighed in when she visited me on Mondays With Marlo. The first thing she said? Don’t do the chores! You’ll make the point that these duties should be shared. Approach the topic with humor, but if you’re working outside the home, the household chores should be divided.” – THE HUFFINGTON POST

Yeah. Groundbreaking stuff. It never occurred to me to share things in my marriage. Like at meals, for example, I’ve always just licked all the food on my wife’s plate before she can start eating. Or, like when I dive into bed ahead of her, sprawl out and scream “There’s no room for you! You’re so fucking selfish! Go away!” Man, thanks to Gloria I can finally see what I’ve been doing wrong. Us average people really don’t know shit, do we? You can check out the video here. But, to be honest, I wouldn’t blame you in the least for not doing that.

Actually, I’ve already lost interest in what Gloria had to say. Now that we’re mentioning Christian Bale I kind of want to watch AMERICAN PSYCHO again. That movie was awesome. Although I’m sure it resulted in some interesting Thanksgiving dinner conversation in the Steinem-Bale household. Damn. Now I’m hungry for turkey and stuffing. Maybe I’ll cook some while I watch PUBLIC ENEMIES and steal my wife’s pain medication for her back injury.

Granted, I have no fucking clue who Marlo Thomas is. I think she’s famous for being in that TWO GIRLS, ONE CUP video. Or maybe she fucked Bobby Kennedy. I don’t know. I’m sure I could find the answer quite easily on the internet but somehow I just can’t bring myself to care. And to be honest not knowing who she is makes this piece all the more entertaining. So I’m just going to go with that.

1 Response to “GLORIA STEINEM KNOWS WHAT’S BEST FOR YOU”


  1. March 20, 2013 at 7:15 PM

    Definitely believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification appeared to be on the internet the easiest thing to be aware
    of. I say to you, I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not
    know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as defined out the whole thing without having side-effects ,
    people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.
    Thanks


Leave a Reply

