15
Jan
14

THE KOCH BROTHERS ARE JUST LIKE YOU AND ME

Kochella

I’ll admit that, for a very long time, I had no idea who the Koch brothers were. I actually thought they were a vaudeville act from the 30’s who rode unicycles and juggled monkeys or something. As it turns out, of course, they’re billionaire business guys. How did they become billionaires? I have no idea. To be honest I have no idea how anybody becomes a billionaire. I’ve heard myths and urban legends about “hard work” and so forth. But, I know plenty of people (myself included) who work pretty fucking hard and are not rolling in scratch. Of course how one becomes a billionaire is not quite as perplexing to me as the apparent problem billionaires have with the rest of us seeing a doctor. And holy shit do they have a problem with it.

“Democrats are increasingly anxious about an onslaught of television ads hitting vulnerable Senate and House candidates for their support of the new health law, since many lack the resources to fight back in the early stages of the midterm campaign.

Since September, Americans for Prosperity, a group financed in part by the billionaire Koch brothers, has spent an estimated $20 million on television advertising that calls out House and Senate Democrats by name for their support of the Affordable Care Act.

The unusually aggressive early run of television ads, which has been supplemented by other conservative initiatives, has gone largely unanswered, and strategists in both parties agree it is taking a toll on its targets.” – THE NEW YORK TIMES

As I’ve said many times before I just cannot understand what the wealthy find so threatening about the rest of us having access to healthcare. Or, you know, a decent wage. Or money for retirement. Or food. I have to assume it makes them feel less special or something. Or maybe they have some kind of fetish for mass suffering. I don’t know. But to unload $20 million in TV ads to complain about it is kind of extreme. Of course so is calling your group “Americans for Prosperity” when, as far as I can tell, these two are the only ones prospering. I suppose that’s more effective than calling it “Rich People for Power” or “Billionaires for Inequality”. Although given the caliber of person who buys into their message they could call it “I’m Going To Kill You And Fuck Your Mother” and it would still probably be wildly successful with their target audience.

What I have always found interesting is that when you talk to people who ardently oppose Obamacare you never actually hear a reason why. Then again you don’t really talk to these people. You see their mouths open and then, all of a sudden, you become overwhelmed by the deafening sound of carnival music. Most likely the reason they’re against it is because they’re the type of people who actually watch commercials to begin with. And if your entire worldview can be shaped by a 30 second spot during DUCK DYNASTY or MONDAY NIGHT FOOTBALL then I’m guessing I don’t give a shit what you think anyway.

0 Responses to “THE KOCH BROTHERS ARE JUST LIKE YOU AND ME”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

